Last 3 frames from Burning Man

I finished off a roll in a Holga which had the last roll from Burning Man in it.   I was waiting to get it developed, because I wanted to turn in at least more than a few rolls to the local shop, where I had a 30% off coupon.

You can find more my film shots from Burning Man here.

Giant Medusa head. At night, it was lit up with multicolored lights and the snakes shot flames from their mouths. The face was reflective, like a mirror.

Giant Medusa head. At night, it was lit up with multicolored lights and the snakes shot flames from their mouths.
The face was reflective, like a mirror.

Bus-based bouncy castle.

Bus-based bouncy castle.

Accidental double exposure of Christina, the bus-boat, and the bouncy castle.

Accidental double exposure of Christina, the bus-boat, and the bouncy castle.

This was the best time I’ve had at Burning Man in years.   Because of my emotional state, and my feelings about photography, and my abilities.  Plus, I had some great opportunities to be at some great events.  I was on the official documentation team, which meant a free ticket, car pass & early entry.   I had a list of stuff to shoot, though of course I shot tons of my own stuff.    But knowing that the organization would want more slick digital than arty film, I shot more digital than film.   Still, I brought lots of film cameras, and shot with a Holga, a Canon SLR, a point & shoot, …shooting regular color, and some cross processed slide film.   I like what I was getting with digital, but ultimately I know that the film shots will be the most rewarding.

Leave a comment